THE FREAKING ANNOUNCEMENT

Becoming a doctor is truly a milestone in my life and one that I managed to achieve tonight when I passed my Final MBBS (Bachelor in Medicine and Surgery) exams at first attempt. And in order to truly celebrate the magnitude of this achievement in a truly Sesha way, I decided to write a song about it.

Okay. I didn’t write a song about it. I modified an already existing song – “I Need A Doctor”, to be specific, sung by Eminem, Dr. Dre and Skylar Grey. The idea was mine but the motivation for me came from most of my batchmates especially Sukesh, Sincy, Shawn, Vicky, Sonu, Stallon, Jerry and a few others whose love/hate relationship with my budding rap career kept me going.

So, anyway, without further ado, here goes.

Warning : Contains explicit language

You’re about to lose your mind
You’ve been gone for so long, you’re runnin’ outta time
You need a doctor, call me a doctor
I am the doctor, doctor to bring you back to life

I told the world one day I would pay it back
Say it on tape, and lay it, record it so that one day I could play it back
But I don’t even know if I believe it when I’m tellin’ you
Doubts startin’ to creep in, everyday it’s just so pink and blue
Glasses, you just need a pair of that, cause no one sees your vision
When you read it for ’em, they just say it’s wack, they don’t know what myope is
And I don’t know if I was awake or asleep when I wrote this
All I know is you came to me when I was at my tiredest,
I picked you up, breathed new life in you, You owe my life to me
But for the life of me, I don’t see why you don’t see like I do
But it just dawned on me you lost an eye, cataract’s blinding you, it’s dark
Let me turn on the lights and brighten you and enlighten you
I don’t think you realise what cataract mean to you, not the slightest clue
Cause that and DM2 they’re like a crew, it was like a sidekick
You gon either wanna fight me when I get off this fuckin’ OT
Or you gon’ hug me, but I’m outta options, there’s nothin’ else I can do cause

You’re about to lose your mind
You’ve been gone for so long, you’re runnin’ outta time
You need a doctor, call me a doctor
I am the doctor, doctor to bring you back to life

It hurts when I see you struggle, you come to me with diseases
You say they’re just symptoms, so I’m puzzled, cause the shit I see is crazy
But you’re either hurtin’ badly or you don’t feel about you no more
Seems like your own opinion’s, not one you can form
Can’t make a decision you keep questionin’ yourself
Second guessin’ but it’s almost like your shyin’ from my help
Like you’re your own leader, I’m supposed to fuckin’ be your doctor
I can endure no more I demand you remember who you are
It was YOU, who believed in me when everyone was tellin’
You don’t come to me, everyone at the fuckin’ clinic, let’s tell the truth
You risked your life for me, I know it as well as you
Nobody wanted to fuck with the new doc, boy, I was cryin’ in this booth
You saved my life, and now it’s my turn to save yours
But I can never repay you, what you did for me is way more
But I ain’t givin’ up faith and you ain’t givin’ up on me
Get up bro I’m dyin’, I need you, come back for fuck’s sake

You’re about to lose your mind
You’ve been gone for so long, you’re runnin’ outta time
You need a doctor, call me a doctor
I am the doctor, doctor to bring you back to life
Bring you back to life, bring you back to life,
You need (a doctor, doctor to bring you back to life)

It literally feels like a lifetime ago
But I still remember the shit like it was just yesterday, though
You walked in, white coat, whole room, cracked jokes
Once you got inside the lab, told you, blood poke
Went through slides, some of them more than once, but they just crap
They said they was showin’ me my death, but where the fuck are they now?
Now that they’re wrong, I don’t see none of them
All I see is Sesh, fuck all you fair-weather docs, all I need is him
Fuckin’ fake healers, when the chips were down you only ogled at us
Now you bout to feel the fuckin’ wrath of Aftermath, faggots
You gon’ see us in our lab jackets and ask us where the fuck we been?
You can kiss my indecisive ass crack, maggots
And the crackers’ ass, little crack a jack beat
Makin’ wack meds, backwards producers, I’m back bastards
One more syringe and then I’m packin’ up my bags and as I’m leavin’
I’ll guarantee they scream, “Dhri, don’t leave us like that man!” cause

You’re about to lose your mind
You’ve been gone for so long, you’re runnin’ outta time
You need a doctor, call me a doctor
I am the doctor, doctor to bring you back to life

Before I go though, I have to thank God, my parents, my friends and innumerable others who have helped me through this endeavour of four and a half years and hope that I can count on their support for years to come.

And sorry about the explicit nature of the song I have chosen to modify but I had to do this because it was the most appropriate.

Thanks once again and for the first time ever,

Dr. Seshadhri S.

Leave a Reply

